Mera Joy Aniolga

Its time everyone flies

In Event, Money, Personal, Travelling, Work on July 1, 2010 at 3:47 pm

I normally don’t go out on weekdays. By not going out I mean staying at home for 5 straight days. I work at home so going out is more like a luxury that I can not afford to make every single day.

But today is different. I went out as I have a very important thing to do.

I WILL PAY FOR MY ONLINE BOOKING at BDO.

Since I work at home, I do not have an ITR. Therefore, I can not in any way apply for a credit card. This sucks as on-line bookings are paid via credit cards. It is a good thing Cebu Pacific upgraded their payment methods. They now have this “Payment Center” option where one can book on-line and pay on or before the allotted time at the payment centers.

For 2 days, Cebu Pacific had a seat sale. I tried booking on the first day but the system says payments must be settled on or before 12:59 pm. This is impossible as I booked at 8pm and there are no payment centers that are operating for 24 hours. I tried to book again on the next day because I thought I can fool their system. I booked on the last day thinking I can pay on the following day. The total amount that I need to pay on or before 12:59 PM is just 351Php for a good for two round-trip to Cebu.

I’ve been to Cebu but this time I want to go to Bohol. I booked on October 8th to 11th as I thought this would be a perfect time to have a vacation in Bohol. I headed out the next day at the nearest BDO branch. It was a good thing that my friend’s girlfriend is the assigned teller at BDO’s payment area. I gave here the 14 digit confirmation number as well as the 6 digit transaction number. I was opening my wallet ready to take out 351 Php. At this point, we were talking about a common friend who died two weeks ago. In the middle of our sad stories and eulogies, she said that my booking is already closed.

CLOSED. CANCELLED. NO CAN DO. NO BOHOL. NO 351.

I’m a bit sad and disappointed as it would really be a huge savings on my part. For a cheap skate like me, a cheap plane ride is like winning an Olympic medal for haggling. This left me with two options for the next time: pay early or use other people’s credit card.

I actually have another option but I’m not open to it. I can always work at a regular job that mandates you to pay for contributions such as Pag-ibig, SSS, Philheath and TIN. If I pay TIN, I will have a copy of my Income Tax Return which will eventually qualify me to have a credit card.

But no! I can never give up on one of the most amazing jobs in the world. Nothing can beat the fact that I work in my pajamas. I can travel while working or as long as the place that I go to have an Internet connection.

If I work on a regular 9-5 job, my salary will be a regular salary and my ultimate goal of having a credit card which is to travel will be defeated as time and money won’t allow me to do these thing with a regular job.

Leave a Reply

