Mera Joy Aniolga

What makes you high?

In Current Events, Event, Personal on April 20, 2011 at 10:50 am

Today is 4:2o. Stoners all over the world are celebrating this worldwide holiday by lighting up a joint and getting high.

I may have a Shisha but I don’t have weed. I don’t need one to get high anyway. I fall on the category of “natural” high types of people. Aside from money and laughter, there are other things that make me high. Believe me, money is not my be all and end all.

In my previous post,  I mentioned about the volunteer work we did for Kiri Dalena’s film for ANC’s Kinse. Yesterday, I saw the website. It was a basic one with the names of the directors, the films and the like. I have nothing better to do today so I checked it out again and Boy! I got high.

First thing that got me HIGH was the film’s concept. We volunteered to take  a picture of Frank Palma’s grave as he is one of the victims of  the extra-judicial killings in the country. All we know is that it was for Kiri Dalena’s film. It was for ANC and that was it.

We did not exactly knew the “whole concept” of the film. In the blog area of KINSE’s site, Kiri Dalena explained a thing or two about the film. Reading it made the hairs at the back of my neck stand in attention. Again, I was teary eyed as I thought of Frank Palma along with many other journalists who were killed. Why? Because they are doing their jobs.

For a non-practicing Mass Comm graduate, the extra judicial killings have a special place in my heart. I never wanted to be a broadcaster, I have lisp and my open bite gets in the way of my speaking skills. If there is one field that I want to practice, that would be Journalism. I wanted to write. I enjoy writing. But it’s just not enough. By- line is good but I need cash. Money may not be my be all and end all but it certainly has a special place in my heart.

The Maguindanao Massacre was like a wake-up call for me. Those journalists were my “brothers and sisters” in profession. I remember my loved ones telling me “it is a good thing you are not working in the Mass Media field, had it been in Iloilo you would have been there for sure.”

I may not practice what I was originally trained for in College but at least I got to participate in something like this. If I have enough money, I would start making films too. I remember Mam Misajon telling my I can be a good director. For a teacher does not like me,saying something like that can be real sincere and  I take her comment as a compliment.

I’m starting to get off-topic here.

Second thing that got me HIGH was the word STUDENTS. This is real shallow of me but at 25, to be called a “student” is synonymous to saying we look young. I don’t know if she thought of us as students, young enough to still be students or she has no other words to use other than “students”. “TWO STUDENTS VOLUNTEERED. It would be redundant to say TWO VOLUNTEERS VOLUNTEERED.

To be thought of as young and to participate in socially relevant projects close to my heart, these things got me HIGH as a kite and made me HAPPY as a clam.

Again, Happy 420. Let’s all get high with whatever is it that makes us HIGH!

Leave a Reply

