Mera Joy Aniolga

Deflowering Bacolod

In Event, Travelling on April 23, 2011 at 8:27 am

Oh Yes Virginia!

I finally did it, for the first time!

No I’m not talking about a sexual encounter. haha…

I am referring about my first Bacolod trip. For the first time in my life I was able to visit Bacolod.

So what?

Duh!

For others Bacolod is no big deal but for me it is. I don’t know if it’s just me, the Piaya pasalubongs that my father gave me as a child or probably traveller in me… lol! I have been to almost every cities in Panay ( it is really not worth bragging about as there are only 3 cities in the Panay region ) but I’ve never been to Bacolod that is why it such a big deal to me.

I went there on the 29th,( I make it a point to go to a new place at least once a year) Considering the fact that I am not a morning person, I exerted one thousand and one effort into waking up early that day. But my lethargic side got the better of me as I woke up at 7 am but ended up arriving at the Pier at around 10 am.

Pier for the Bacolod Ferry is located at Muelle Loney. You can either take a cab or a jeepney going there. ( Name/ route of the Jeepney will vary according to your location but Jaro CPU, Jaro Liko, Arrastre SM City, Parola, Baluarte and Lapaz are the ones who pass by the main road leading into the Bacolod Port)

I went directly at the ticketing office of one of the ferries and booked an 11 a.m trip. It was my first time to ride the ferry. Naturally I didn’t know a thing about seat assignments and such. I had to use my flirting abilities in order to get some crew to help me out and point me to the right seat. ( You see, the last time I traveled via sea vessel was way back when I was 7 years old so that was like 14 years ago, there are no seat assignments for ships going to Manila so I hope you’ll excuse me for being such a dumdum about seat assignments and the like)

When I finally got to my assigned seat, I decided to kill boredom by listening to the radio. My phone has a radio option and NU 107 is enough to keep me company. Remote Control Weekend is extended so I got a chance to listen to songs that I have been missing as requested by other people. I figured it’s not just me who miss hearing this song or that song but a whole lot of other people as well.

File:Ph seal negros occidental bacolod.png

Did I mention that I’m doing this all alone?

In plain and simple analogy, if traveling is a sexual encounter, then I’m probably masturbating….haha!

I finally arrived at Bacolod City at around one pm. My guy picked me up. (This time I already have a partner..haha) We went straight to SM City Bacolod. But since I’m poor in Math I can’t tell you the approximate kilometers but it’s very near at the port, so near that we just walked to get there. We had a hard time locating the mall’s entrance. My guy is not originally from Bacolod, so we have the right to get lost or not to know the places there. hehe.

Our purpose of going to SM is to have our lunch. I left Iloilo without breakfast so you can just imagine how hungry I have been. I don’t know but I have this feeling of awkwardness when eating alone in public. I’d rather starve than eat alone and feel like a loser. Anyway, we ate at this expensive restaurant. I forgot the name. They have on the job trainees from La Consolacion College of HRM serving as waitresses.

From my point of view, the SM City Bacolod is a lot more posh when compared to SM City Iloilo. But we never had a chance to go over the whole place since we have a boat trip to catch. It is the holidays so we had to play the role of seguristas. We bought tickets back to Iloilo before we even left the Port.

After our lunch, we went to Robinson’s. Again we had a hard time finding the jeep to ride. I had to ask the security guard for the jeep’s name, I also asked the dispatcher and even my co-worker who is from Bacolod. We waited for the Bata-Mandalagan jeep, and being a segurista, I asked the driver again if his destination is at Robinson’s. I have no problem asking other people. I love playing tourist. hahaha

Going round the streets of Bacolod, I noticed a lot of differences between Iloilo and Bacolod. The streets are a lot wider and the traffic is not that congested. I also noticed that they have a lot of “markets”, though I can’t be sure if those are really markets or just a holiday bazaar. They also had a lot of Ukay-ukay stores, I’d love to visit one of those stores next time. Bacolod have a lot of establishments that are like solo. For example,the Perfect Pitch here in Iloilo is just in SM City but in Bacolod there is like a Perfect Pitch store in one street corner whose location is not at the mall.

From the plaza up to Robinson’s, I’ve noticed the change of scenery, establishments in this area are more classier.I also love the lagoon, if I had enough time I would have spent the entire afternoon there. It is perfect for jogging, reading a book or just sitting around. It is way more beautiful than the Lapaz plaza of Iloilo.

After buying a pair of slippers, we hurried back to the Port and again I passed by the Lagoon which I fell in love with. But sadly, my Bacolod experience is only good for 3 hours or so. At around 3 pm, we went back to the port only to discover that our trip was delayed, the 4pm trip was extended to 7 pm which is quite annoying, had I known that it would be delayed, I would have spent a few hours strolling around the city but then again why stroll around the city when I can spend idle time sitting at the lagoon. haha!

Mac Arthur said it, and so will I….

Bacolod, I shall return….

Repost from Old Blog. July 18, 2010

Leave a Reply

