Mera Joy Aniolga

The (little) Girl from Boracay

In Event, Family, Personal on April 24, 2011 at 5:11 pm

This is Ara Sastre.  She is Harren’s adopted sister. By adopted I mean contractual adoption. By contractual adoption I mean as long as Ara wants to live in iloilo, she gets to live with her Kuya Harren.

I don’t know the basics, the ins and outs of the deal. All I know is that Ara is the little girl who accompanies Harren’s mom if she is in Boracay.

Last June, Ara was made to stay with her Kuya Harren in Iloilo. Since Harren’s mom travels here and there as part of her job.  My friend basically lives by himself. This is where Ara, the adopted sister comes in handy. She will keep Harren company.

On the weekends, we would usually go out somewhere or hang out at Harren’s place. Ara, in some way became “part” of the group. I became her Ate Mera, Timi became her Ate Timi and so on. She would draw us as princesses, cats and the like.

This March, she decided to go back to Boracay. She probably misses her old life, her parents and her extended family in the island.

I miss her. This photo of her made me cry. This was taken last week when Harren went to Boracay for a vacation. Ara looks so different in this picture. She looks at home. She is at home. She looks happy. And as I’ve said, I miss her.

Leave a Reply

