Mera Joy Aniolga

Multiplication of Gays

In Personal on April 28, 2011 at 7:02 am

There is this joke about gays multiplying even if they are not able to give birth. I have this straight guy friend who is thankful for the multiplication of gays. According to him, the phenomenon is working to his advantage as “ugly” guys like him can have better chances at women as gay guys are of course not interested in them.

My friend has a point. But this is not entirely true as there are women who fall for gay guys. Personally, I find Augusten Burroughs hot. I may sound real shallow here but his physical appearance is one of the many things that must be noted. He writes, his books are funny. I enjoyed reading Dry and Running with Scissors. Other than that, he takes beautiful pictures and has cool tattoos. If I were to choose between my “male” friend or “gay” Augusten, I would definitely go for the latter. I don’t give a rat’s ass whether he is gay or not.

There are a lot of cases of women getting married to gay guys. Whether they get hitched for convenience, love, security, money or whatnot. The point is that women would not mind settling down with a gay guy as long as they are “committed” to each other. Its like, “I don’t care if you date other men as long as I’m the only woman in your life.” Yes, that’s how crazy we, women are.

What my friend failed to see is that women value love, loyalty and monogamy over masculinity and sex. I’d be a hypocrite if I say I don’t raise my eyebrows whenever I see an odd couple,  (by odd I mean gay man, straight woman or gay woman and gay guy) intentions are questioned, money matters are considered, love is blamed and the like.

But hey, who am I to question and judge these people? Who knows, they might have found and are walking hand in hand with their own Augusten Burroughs”?

Leave a Reply

