Mera Joy Aniolga

It is not a CONTEST

In Travelling on August 6, 2011 at 11:48 pm

Travelling is not a contest. This is what everyone needs to put in mind when they travel. While it may be impressive to have a long list of the places that you’ve been to, it is also important to consider the amount of time that you’ve spent in that place.

Travel. This is one of the best advises that I got from my mother. Go back to Manila. Go to Hongkong for pleasure not for work. Go to Mindanao because I’ve never been there. No, my mother is not an extensive traveller. I think, travelling is one of her frustrations that is why she sort of knighted me to do it for her. Her eyes sort of glistens with curiosity (or envy) with every story, anecdote and whatnot from the places that I go to.

Back when I was working at Call Centers here in Iloilo, I just didn’t see travelling as something that is going to be a part of me. It was too expensive for me. I was a good thing I was introduced in the world of homebased jobs. Now, I can work anywhere as long as I have a WiFi connection and a laptop. Ahh, the life.

I have this 7,107 challenge. It’s a lifetime challenge and hopefully I can finish it. Another challenge would be to go to major cities before going to other countries. It’s a sort of ‘wag maging dayuhan sa sariling bayan” thing. Before I explore other countries, I want to see my country first.

I don’t care if you’ve been to 500 cities in the Philippines. I don’t care if you’ve been to Bohol and Cebu in your 3 days and 2 nights tour. Yes, it can save money but would you be able to familiarise yourself with the place in just 3 days? You may say that I have wasted my money on my second tour in Cebu where we just went around the city for a couple of days or so.

You see, I used to live from one paycheck to another. I was expecting my salary to come on my 2nd day but it was late so our Bantayan Island escapade didn’t push thru. It was a blessing in disguise as I got to familiarize myself with the ins and outs of the City. Just like Bacolod, I now know Cebu like the back of my hands. I’ve learned the routes of jeepneys, I’ve visited places that tourists don’t usually go to. I got a chance to kind of dip into the “culture” and “feel” of the life there.

This is the kind of travelling where you just don’t go after the quantity but the quality instead. Your travel belt may have 500 notches while mine may have 5 notches. But  I’d rather have my 5 notches of places that I visited and is familiar with instead of the 500 that you have visited but is not familiar with.

Now tell me, what kind of a traveler are you?

Leave a Reply

