Mera Joy Aniolga

Empathy vs Sympathy

In Uncategorized on September 27, 2011 at 11:21 am

Last week, I had a one on one encounter with sympathy and empathy. The former is defined as feeling sorry for someone while the latter is defined as putting yourself in another person’s shoe.

We went to Yato last week. This is the first time that Harren, Timi and Rogeric will be one place place at the same time. Things turned out okay. I was empathizing with Harren as I know how he was feeling seeing Timi in another guy’s arm.

They wanted to watch Rakenrol but it was no longer in the shown so we decided to eat our lunch at Samurai. Harren was making discreet passes which I know are for Timi. I sympathize with Rogeric as I know how difficult it is to play deaf when you know that every bits and pieces of your being the new guy is challenged.

Sympathy and empathy, they are two things that makes us human. I think that our ability to sympathize makes us all the more of a social being, we can relate, we can feel. However, it does not make the wrong right. I empathize with the old boyfriend but I sympathize with the new one.

Leave a Reply

